It’s been a busy week of travel and good old fashioned “girlfriend” time, so it’s been over a week since I’ve posted here. I was in north GA – visiting my friend, Claire, and husband, Terry, at their new house, both to help paint her living room a fabulous “lemon butter” yellow, as well as to simply visit. Internet and phone communication is great, but nothing can replace hanging out together … face to face!

The painting ended up to be a “painting PARTY”. Two other friends came to help – friends Claire and I met on Facebook from our interest in and support of Operation Migration. “Craniacs” – they call us because we’re “crazy about whooping cranes” and Operation Migration’s work to save this magnificent endangered bird. This bond turned into a good friendship, as we painted – talked – and laughed together.

Sadly, in all the excitement of the trip, I managed to miss taking a photo on the day I arrived. The travel and excitement of arriving took precedence in my mind and I forgot. But – I have a photo for all the other days. Claire’s house and yard is full of wonderful photo ops, too! She runs a “Golden Corral Buffet” for birds, and the neighborhood birds congregate – allowing perfect shots for camera buffs!

The photos will be small sized to save space, but you can click on any of them to see them larger in my flickr account.

365 photo #59 … EPIC FAIL. Photo was not taken… 🙂

IMG_6750 (2) IMG_6825
1. 365 photo #60 – Male cardinal in the tree that is used by birds as a staging area for the bird feeders Claire has out for her birds. It was a foggy day, and in order to make the cardinal stand out, I added some contrast to the photo. But – you can still tell that it’s a bit “misty”.
2. 365 photo #61 – “The early bird catches the worm” – a robin in the “staging tree” — taken first thing in the morning before we started painting

IMG_6752 IMG_6959
1. 365 photo #62 – Our friends gave Claire this lovely bouquet of flowers when they arrived, and here is a macro of one bloom. What beauty! What texture! And – it’s “sort of” like the color of the paint we used!
2. 365 photo #63 – Claire and her kitty, Hannabelle. The night before this photo was taken it was very stormy in the southeast, with violent storm cells – one after the other – marching eastward, seemingly aimed at “us”. Claire and I were up lots of the night tracking these storms, so we’d know if we needed to find a “safe place in the house” to protect ourselves should a random tornado from one of these cells decide to drop down out of the sky. (We lucked out – and were just fine) The difficult thing was that it was not just us we were worried about. Claire’s kitty – Hannabelle – was not with us, but was still in their “other house”, the house from which they’re moving over the course of this winter and spring. So — during the storm, not only were we worried about our own safety, but the safety of the cat, as well as the safety of so many friends of Claire’s in the north Georgia area. So … the next day we went over to the other house to check on little Hannabelle and it was a wonderful reunion. She was was just fine. However, as Claire held Hannabelle, as you see in this photo – she told us – in a very meow-y string of “kitty obscenities” just how much she missed her family! (The bottom line is that they’ll be moving Hannabelle over to their new house very soon!)

IMG_7015 IMG_7042
1. 365 photo #64 – As we came home from doing some errands – there were 4 deer walking through Claire’s yard. Here’s one as he crossed the the driveway of the neighbor’s house.
2. 365 photo #65 – It was time to leave and return to Hilton Head, and on my way out, I took this photo of a lone flower in one of their front beds. I don’t know what it is…

Home again … home again! I’m back in Hilton Head now. Yesterday was a bright clear day, but I had so many photos to go through, I ended up staying inside to work on them and not enjoying the outside as much as I would have liked. But – – I took a break to find my daily photo. It was then that I discovered that our blue bird box is inhabited – but not by bluebirds. There is a brown headed nut hatch couple who have set up “housekeeping” inside. Here he (or she?) is guarding the home front. Not only was I really shocked at how close they allowed me to get to them, but they are the cutest little “contortionists”! They can twist around into such odd positions – often upside down!

IMG_7062
365 photo #66

Now … it’s time to find today’s photo….

