From Boneyard Beach, my friend and I went to Jarvis Park, which is really quite close to where I live – just across Rt. 278!.  I’ve only been there once for a picnic in May of last year.  That day was so hot that I wasn’t able to enjoy it, and have not had much interest in going back, thinking there was not much there.  Clearly I had not investigated the park further, because my friend said that it was a great place to see aquatic wildlife by the lake.  After our visit the other day, I’ll be going back again soon!  There’s a black top path that goes around the lake, giving one great views – and photo ops!

First cracker out of the box we SAW wildlife:

IMG_3752  IMG_3760

1.  An Anhinga drying his wings…!

2.  An alligator is lying in among the brush along the edge of the lake.  This is the second one we saw – and this is the youngest of the two we saw.  Clearly there is no swimming in this lake, but there is kayaking.  Not sure I’m so keen on kayaking, as I don’t want to be in the same body of water as an alligator in a boat that is as tippy as a kayak!

IMG_3776   IMG_3789

1.  Two wood storks that were a part of a grouping of them

2.  A turtle chilling on a mud flat thing on the lake.  They are very skittish, so you have to sneak up on them so they don’t get spooked and hop into the water!

IMG_3804   IMG_3808   IMG_3794

1.  A cormorant (I’m pretty sure) hanging out on a dock post.  I had wondered about this because I’m used to identifying cormorants by seeing them drying their wings.

2.  The lake’s edge – with either great egrets or ibis in the distance

3.  cherry blossoms!  They were in full bloom!

