If anyone noticed a random entry which was published for only a few minutes, it was truly there, but I deleted it.  I was continuing to try to embed the video, “Cats in Pots”, but to no avail.  I think WordPress doesn’t allow some of these for security reasons.  My last entry will just have to remain a link.  It’s cute, though, and it’s a video I have watched numerous times.

This time of year remains slow.  I think my brain is also running at “turtle speed”, as well, and there are few revelations about “life” coming from my mind.  I am accomplishing my daily activities in a kind of robot-like way.  One day seems to blend into the next.  Ray and I are really quite content and are enjoying the slower speed, which is giving us the luxury to truly enjoy getting to know our new kitties!  I chalk it up to “winter’s slugdom”.  Maybe I am hibernating, in similar fashion to the bear.  Well – heh … that’s a stretch.

For most of January and part of February, the weather was wet.  Cloudy days seemed to be the norm, and I think it rained on average – at least somewhat – every other day.  Those glorious sunny days seemed to be a rarity.  We don’t have the cold and snow like “up north” – but even the rain can get get old, too.

On one of those rare days, when the temperature climbed into the low 70’s for the first time, Ray and I hot footed it to Pine Island, which we have dubbed “Dolphin Head Beach”.  It’s waterfront property located on Port Royal Sound within our housing area, which has fabulous driftwood, shells, and occasional spottings of aquatic wildlife.  On the edge of the beach are old gnarled trees, weathered by wind, and on the other side is a swampy “low country” style grassland.  It’s a popular area for dog walking, sunning, exercise AND photography, which is why I go there….

IMG_3448   IMG_3436

1.  gnarled tree on the edge of the beach area

2.  The beach – showing the “low country” grassland to the left – and Port Royal Sound.  People were out walking their dogs, sitting and enjoying the rare sunlight, and there were on that day some children playing.

IMG_3369   IMG_3380

1.  It was low tide when we were there – so some driftwood could be seen that isn’t always visible.

2.  Another gnarled tree.  Guess which way the prevailing wind is….?

IMG_3414   IMG_3407

1.  I don’t know who, but one year around Christmas someone decided to decorate this piece of driftwood with shells

2.  Close up of the driftwood with a shell on it

IMG_3421   IMG_3435   IMG_3427

1.  Palm tree on the edge of the sand

2 and 3.  On the other side of the beach is the grassland swampy area – with lots of gnarled trees and bushes covered with Spanish moss.

On another day, I took a photo shoot in Whooping Crane Conservancy.  Last year I posted some pictures taken at approximately the same time as these were taken.  This year I edited my pictures to show the color more accurately, as the pictures in last year’s walk were more washed out.  I guess that says something for my improved photo editing abilities.  However, it’s my goal to learn to take them more accurately so that I don’t have to do so much editing….

Whooping Crane Conservancy is an prescribed area within our housing development which has been designated to be kept in it’s original wetland state.  It’s a wonderful place to see native aquatic and plant life.  Egrets, herons, water snakes, song birds, woodpeckers, and even alligators among other life make their home there.  No – there are no whooping cranes, as they are terribly endangered, but they may have been there many years ago.  However, there was precious little wildlife during my walk.  This is a place where one can visit often, and it’s different each time.  Next time I visit, the color will be even more lush as springtime and warm weather will continue to “green-up” everything:

IMG_3555   IMG_3568

1.  The path to the boardwalk area

2.  From the boardwalk taken where one can view another section of boardwalk.  The green is actually algae and other growths that grow on the wetlands.  In the winter it’s more clear and there is little green color, but as spring and warmer weather comes, the green becomes more intense.  Clearly we’re entering springtime as I could see a difference from my January walk.

IMG_3579   IMG_3589   IMG_3625

1.  Part of a fallen tree lying in the swamp – with moss and algae growing on it

2.  Water snake.  Blech!

3.  Reflection in the water of a dead tree (with lots of woodpecker holes!).  This is an area where there wasn’t much green algae growth.  The reflection of the blue sky was amazing

IMG_3597   IMG_3616

1.  Great white egret

2.  Part of a dead tree that’s left standing.  I think the woodpeckers have mangled that, as they love dead wood.

Then there are evidences of spring in our own yard.  Back in the 1980’s, when my in-laws owned the house where we are living now, my mother in law planted all these daffodils, which we get to enjoy now.

IMG_3529   IMG_3536

February 18th – buds.  Not a bloom … yet.

IMG_3647   IMG_3646

February 20th – fresh new blooms!

Maybe it’s time that this bear comes out of hibernation!

