Ever since I can remember, I have been attracted to bright, bold colors.  Give me bright red, Christmas green, bright orange or yellow, kelly green, royal blue, and vibrant turquoise.  Add jet black to any of these colors, and it’s a perfect combination for an outfit, some art object, or even simple mundane things!  Give me this over the more muted colors of beige, browns, grays, olive green, and even some of the pastels.  Unless combined with something bright, or put together in an amazing print or combination, these colors are just plain boring!

It influences my clothes selections, décor in my house, cars, my blog layouts, as well as simple things like pens or pencils.  All other things being equal, if I see “bright” or “colorful”, I’ll choose them before something more muted.

Certain holidays bring out the bright colors:  Christmas (red and green), Valentine’s Day (red), St. Patrick’s Day (kelly green), Easter (purple and yellow, among other spring colors), 4th of July (red, white and blue), Halloween (orange and black).  I’m also in love with fall foliage – the brighter the orange, red and yellow, the better I like it!  Summer flower gardens are the best.  It’s fun!  It’s happy!

One exception to this is my home décor.  It’s not overly bright (basically white walls, beige rugs, tile or hardwood floors).  One reason for this is that I share my space with my husband who is not as in love with brightness as I am.  However, I try to have at least one thing that’s bright placed there, whether it be a pillow, furniture upholstery, throw rug, bedspread, wall hanging, or knick knack which will draw my eye.  If I get a chance to plan a room from scratch, I plan around those things!  I think that if I was more skilled in decorating, I would go brighter, as I have been to a decorator friend’s house who has made skilled use of reds, bright prints, and other bold colors in her rooms, and I really like it.  I admit that I wonder if I would over the long haul.  Maybe it’s just nice to look at from a distance…  I’m under no illusion that it’s for everyone.

When I’ve had the opportunity to choose the color of my car (and I haven’t always, as sometimes they have come off the lot), I want it to be bold.  My favorite color car to this point was my bright green Taurus back in 1997.  At that time, I vowed to have red car at some point in my life.  I’d hoped this year would be that year, and I ordered one … I THOUGHT.  However, two months later when it arrived, instead of it being red, I found a burgundy car waiting for me.  I had to contain my disappointment, as I didn’t want to reject the car and go through the lengthy ordering process again unless all of the car was wrong, which it was not.

I’ve gotten used to the burgundy and I’ve grown to like it – somewhat.  At least it’s not the non-descript color of silver, gray, black, off white or beige.  My last car was an off white car, and it used to be more difficult to find it in a parking lot seemingly full of way too many other off white vehicles.  At least with my burgundy car, it sticks out among the rest.  But – it would be more noticeable if it was RED!

A few weeks ago it was time to purchase a new laptop.  And, as I was looking through the Dell website at the Latitude computer I wanted, I noticed there was an option to get the top in either red or blue.  I now have a red Dell Latitude Computer!  If I can’t have a red car, I can at least have a red computer!

IMG_3550

I looked in my closet this morning, and noticed the colors of my wardrobe in a way I had not before.  There are more red tops of various styles than any other color.  Then I have black based, but brightly printed skirts, and one pair of red slacks that I am thrilled I found a few years ago.  Now to find the Christmas red skirt…!  If I was a bird, I’d be a Cardinal or Painted Bunting!

I’m a fan of that reality show in TLC called “What Not To Wear”.  The hosts of the show, Stacy and Clinton, deal with women (and a few men) who are wardrobe challenged.  They throw out their old wardrobe, and are given $5,000. to purchase a new one – but only under the guidance of Stacy and Clinton.  A few of their “clients” have been fans of bright color combinations and crazy patterns.  I’m not as exaggerated as these wildly dressed clients, but wearing bold colors and bright prints is something I like to do.

Stacy and Clinton usually try to discuss with the people just why they have chosen the clothes they’ve been wearing.  They want to be noticed, but it often comes out that they are hiding themselves and their true selves behind the colors and glitz, which distracts others from the person behind the clothes.  It’s a way of having their cake and eat it too – to be both noticed, and hide at the same time.  Stacy and Clinton try to encourage the people to dress to accentuate their true self.  Their wardrobe will still incorporate bright colors, but done in such a way as not to distract from the person wearing them….

I have wondered if this is a little like me.  Notice me!  Give me attention!  See my bright, flashy exterior.  But – I’m not sure I want you to get to know the person behind the flash and brightness!

Scary thought!

To be honest I am not as extreme as any of the persons on the show.  But – the fact that I can recognize this is food for thought.

Despite these thoughts, I am not going to check my love of colors at the door.  That is something I know is real and true about me.  In fact, I believe my affinity for bright color is something inherent in me, as it’s been with me since before I can remember!  I just hope I’m using the colors and patterns to enhance me – not to hide me.

And I end with this photo:

IMG_2814

Sometimes less is more!

Message Received.

