Archive for June 5, 2012



Today was not much of a photo day, as I was behind the wheel for most of the day – headed to North Georgia to visit my friend, Claire. But – I have taken my daily photo now that I’m settled in for the night in a motel en route. I’m not sure how many miles I drove, but I have about 350 miles to go tomorrow and that is a LOT less than what I drove today! My 365 photo is showing what I’m doing before hitting the sack … which will be soon! It was a tiring day…. More driving tomorrow, but at least not as much. 🙂

IMG_0386
365 photo #157 – Using the wifi connection at the Hampton Inn! Notice that I always use a portable keyboard and mouse and mouse pad to protect the laptop’s keyboard and touch pad, as I’ve found that they WILL and DO have to be replaced. I guess I’m hard on them….! I also enjoyed my SUBWAY sandwich for dinner, and I’m finishing up the soda now!

Let’s see if I can catch up … only to get behind again!

Tomorrow I’m leaving on yet another trip. Due to needing to go to PA because of my mom’s illness in March, I was unable to visit my good friend, Claire in North Georgia. At that time we were planning to do a spring piano / flute concert in her church. She ended up doing the concert alone, and I can’t redo that experience. However, I can finally do a visit, and I am leaving for her house tomorrow. Among other interests we share, we both are photography enthusiasts, so I will have lots of different photos to share for my daily 365 photo during my visit. I”m looking forward to the change of scenery and some different kinds of photos from a different area. Claire lives in a beautiful area, so who knows what my subjects will be for my photos!!

But – before I do – I am going to finally catch up on the photos that are not yet posted…

IMG_0179
365 photo #150 – (May 29) – House Finch in the black pine staging area for the feeders.

Bonus photos:

IMG_0110 IMG_0119
1. Grackle – kind of a bully bird. I feed the birds only safflower seeds mainly because the grackles don’t much like it so they are less likely to be around to bully the smaller birds. However, they try…!
2. Male Cardinal in the black pine “staging area” of the bird feeders.

IMG_0186
365 photo # 151 (May 30) – a gorgeous sunset which gave the world an orange glow for a bit!

IMG_0213
365 photo #152 (May 31) – I believe these are crabapple blossoms which grow wild around our yard and neighborhood.

IMG_0235
365 photo #153 – (June 1) Misty lying on her fleece mat which we have placed on the couch above our head as we’re sitting. I will miss my kitties when I’m gone…

Bonus photo:

IMG_0219
I must include Felix if I’ve shown Misty! 🙂

IMG_0237
365 photo #154 (June 2) – Female cardinal hanging out on an old wrought iron railing that was placed there after being removed a very long time ago. I had forgotten it was there until I saw Mrs. Cardinal there that day. I can’t believe it hasn’t been pitched, as it was from a patio that has long since been transformed.

Bonus photos:

IMG_0289 IMG_0274
1. Red winged blackbird — Sometimes they are “bully birds” to the smaller birds, but they are so pretty, I think.
2. Dove

IMG_0266 IMG_0293
1. White Rhododendron. The white ones are the last to bloom, so these flowers are almost done for the season. They are so pretty and am always sad when they’re done blooming.
2. The white rhododendron bush

Yesterday I made a point of going down the street to where I’ve noticed a vacant field that’s had numerous wildflowers planted. I don’t know who owns the field and why they are planting these flowers. I think it’s a future development – but it is really pretty. I stopped by to take some close up and landscape photos of the field while it’s so pretty. I don’t know what many of the flowers are…

IMG_0317
365 photo #155 (June 3) I don’t know what this purple flower is, but blurred in the background is a large area of wild daisies.

Bonus photos:

IMG_0311 IMG_0326

IMG_0375 IMG_0364

IMG_0378 IMG_0369

IMG_0380
365 photo #156 (June 4) – suitcase packed — ready to go tomorrow morning – pronto! It was not much of a photo day today…

And — that brings me up to date. I don’t know how well I can keep this up while I’m gone, but there will be photos for those days to post later….

Laterz…!