Whew! It’s taken me way too long to get back to blogging since our trip north. Though stressful, the trip went well. The cats were excellent travelers, although Felix’ “meow voice” was working over time! We are now safely settled into our home on Long Island, but during this period of time, I’ve been distracted and scattered, so much so that there were three days when I did not get that daily photo taken. I had vowed not to allow that to happen, but perfection is elusive. My few days “lapse” will not stop me from continuing to take daily photos.

As I said I would do, I’m going to return to the beauty of Hilton Head in order to update my daily photos from the last days on Hilton Head before heading north. It will be fun to relive it.

On May 1st, I took a gorgeous sunrise walk on Folly Field Beach with my friend, Kim. We moved from Folly Field, to Port Royal Beach, then onto to the edge of Mitchelville, where the ocean moves into Port Royal Sound. It was a leisurely walk, as we stopped often along the way to take photos of whatever fancied us. I’m not much of am morning person, so I miss way too many sunrises. However, once I’ve managed to tear myself out of my cozy bed, I’m always grateful that I’ve made the effort. That time of day has the best lighting for photos, as well as being much cooler and more comfortable in spring and summer. As we finished our walk, the temperature got oppressively warm, I was anxious to get out of the sun and the heat.

It will be difficult to choose one photo to be the photo of the day for May 1st – but with the option of bonus photos – I’ll just choose one:

IMG_9192
365 photo #122. I have never considered jellyfish to be attractive or pretty, but they become almost like a stained glass window in the low morning light! There were tons of them on the beach that morning

Bonus photos:

IMG_9141 IMG_9171
1. Good Morning! Sunrise!
2. Tide Pool reflections (of a house on the shoreline)

IMG_9160 IMG_9187
1. surf line — with sea foam
2. sea creatures and plants – including whelk egg sacs

IMG_9186 IMG_9200
1. shell – we placed it on end like this for photographic purposes
2. driftwood

IMG_9217 IMG_9224
1. snowy egret
2. pelicans and sea gulls out on the sand bar

IMG_9226 IMG_9245
1. sanderling – oh my do they love to scurry on the beach!
2. more driftwood out in the tide pools – with barnacles

I think it may be time to see what the beach is like here — before the tourists invade. We don’t have much more time until then….

More catch up in next entry…

